From Zombie Madness … to Rube Goldberg machines… with a Gummy Worm snack in the middle

****  The Walking Dead  ****

   On Sunday night, Jake (big ol’ younger son) and I watched the Season 2 premiere of The Walking Dead on AMC.  I had heard great things about this series during its first season, so I picked it up when it came out on DVD … Jake and I gobbled it up like, well, like hungry zombies!  Since then we’ve been eagerly awaiting Season 2. 

   The first season begins with Rick Grimes, a Sheriff’s Deputy in Georgia, taking a serious gunshot wound while responding to a call with his partner, Shane Walsh.  He later wakes up (comes out of a coma?) in a deserted hospital after ‘the zombie apocalypse’.  He is helped by a father and son who have survived, and finds evidence suggesting that his wife and son have also survived.  This sets him on the road to Atlanta and a rumored refugee camp. 

   I won’t reveal much more except that that this series takes the typical zombie movie format and by stretching it to series length allows for a great deal of character and plot development, including the trauma of living constantly in a state of traumatic stress. 

   So far, the series features excellent writing and acting, and the production values are movie-like.  I will hope the series survives the departure of its creator, Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile).  Based on the Season 2 premiere and upcoming previews, everything looks great for a strong second season.

    Trivia:
*  The word “zombie” is never used.  They are referred to as “walkers” by the main group of characters, “geeks” by a gang in Atlanta, and “test subjects” by the CDC (Center for Disease Control).
*  I went through the entire first season without realizing that Andrew Lincoln, who plays Rick Grimes, is British.  He really does a great job on the Georgia accent.  Now that I know, I listen… and hear the occasional glitch in his accent, but not often.

****  Gummies!!!  ****

   I love gummy worms! 

   Not just any gummy worms. 
   Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers® gummy worms!
   My favorite are the green and orange ones… what’s yours?

 

 

****  RANDOM THINKAGE  ****

Really, y’all… I do want some input on what to name this random section…

    I’m bad enough about making up words when I’m awake, but recently I woke up from a dream with a word in my mind… nothing else about the dream, just one word… applefarians.  I immediately wondered what it meant.  Extreme vegetarians that eat only apples?   
   This morning, as I thought to blog about this, I googled the word, just to see if it was real.  It turns out that one other person has used it… some guy on Twitter was trying to come up with a word for people obsessed with Apple computer products.  He also considered maclems and iPhonistas.
   Wanna share some other made-up word stories?  I love me some wordplay.

****

    Remember Harold Camping?  He’s the radio preacher who made all the news with his end-of-the-world prediction back in May.  Yeah, that guy.  Evidently he’s fired up his Rube Goldberg Apocalypse Prediction machine and has come up with a new date… October 21, 2011… today.  Hope you didn’t have anything planned for the weekend.
    Somebody get this man one of those cube blocks of Post-It notes to jot down his future doomthoughts.  That’s about what his prophecies are worth.

****

    In that last bit, I googled “Rube Goldberg machine” to make sure I had the name right and learned that such devices have different names around the world.
* In Great Britain, the concept is exactly the same, but they are known as a
Heath Robinson contraption.
* In France, it’s called usine à gaz, or ‘gasworks’.
* In Denmark, Storm P maskiner, (Storm P machine) after a cartoonist and inventor named Robert Storm Petersen. 
* In Japan, “Pythagorean devices” or a “Pythagoras switch”. 
… and …
* In Germany, such machines are called  “Was-passiert-dann-Maschine”
(“What happens next machine”).  I particularly like that one.

 

 

 

   The “Self-Operating Napkin” is activated when soup spoon (A) is raised to mouth, pulling string (B) and thereby jerking ladle (C), which throws cracker (D) past parrot (E). Parrot jumps after cracker and perch (F) tilts, upsetting seeds (G) into pail (H). Extra weight in pail pulls cord (I), which opens and lights automatic cigar lighter (J), setting off skyrocket (K) which causes sickle (L) to cut string (M) and allow pendulum with attached napkin to swing back and forth, thereby wiping chin.

********

That’s all for now… see you again soon!      

Nick                                                  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

2 thoughts on “From Zombie Madness … to Rube Goldberg machines… with a Gummy Worm snack in the middle

  1. My son told me his older sister annoyitates him , gonna be a major contributer one day lol. Need to come up w/a name for someone who makes up their own words :0)

Leave a Reply

