Randomosity

Given the title of this blog, it seems appropriate to start off by saying…

“Hello, Ashley!”  

 

 
****  Random Times  ****

  I had already named this blog post “Randomosity” before this next event occurred, so file it under random coinkydinks. 
  Tonya and I had a late lunch at Chinatown Restaurant (near 82nd and Slide).  I had the House Chicken, which was chicken, black beans and jalapenos in a black bean sauce.  Yummy, but scorchingly hot!  Left the insides of my cheeks feeling toasted.   
  Anyhow, to make a long story short, as we were leaving, Tonya glanced at the Business Hours sign on the door and this is what she saw:

  Now, that’s a little arbitrary, don’tcha think?

                                     
 ****  Random Movies Thoughts  ****

   What upcoming movies interest you, random reader?  I think Tower Heist looks hilarious.  Hopefully it gives Eddie Murphy and Matthew Broderick a career boost and gets them making funny movies again.
   However, the movies I’m most looking forward to right now are adaptations of books I’ve read.
   The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo opens on December 21 with the tagline “The Feel Bad Movie of Christmas” — funny line for some dark subject matter.  I’ve been writing about Steig Larsson’s Millenium trilogy as I’ve been reading it and want to see the movie adaptation of the first book.  I’ve heard the Swedish (subtitled) original versions are excellent and wouldn’t mind checking them out as well.  As with the following series, I expect that we’ll see movies made of all three books.

   The Hunger Games opens March 23, 2012.  I read this trilogy after Ryan and Jake told me how good they were.  It will be interesting to see how Hollywood handles this series.  It’s pretty dark but marketed at teens.  It is set in a future where a repressive Capitol annually chooses a boy and a girl from each of 12 districts to fight to the death in a televised event.  Like the Millenium trilogy, it has a very unique young lady as its main character.

   The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is scheduled for release Dec 14, 2012, followed by The Hobbit: There and Back Again on Dec 13, 2013.  Obviously, this is J.R.R. Tolkein’s “The Hobbit” split into two movies.  I am a huge fan of Peter Jackson’s “Lord of the Rings” trilogy of films.  I can’t understate that.  I’ve read the books more than once and the movies exceeded my expectations.  So, not surprisingly, I’m really looking forward to seeing what he does with “The Hobbit”.  Just so you know, Ryan and I followed the casting of Bilbo Baggins with great interest and were very happy to see our first choice get the role (Martin Freeman of “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”).  Can’t wait!

****  Random Joke  ****

Two rednecks decided that they weren’t going anywhere in life and thought they should go to college to get ahead.

The first went in to see the counselor, who recommended he take a history or logical thinking class.

“What’s logical thinkin’?” the first redneck asked.

The professor answered, “Let me give you an example. Do you own a weed eater?”

“I sure do.”

“Then I can assume, using logical thinking, that you have a yard,” replied the professor.

“That’s real good!” said the redneck.

The professor continued, “Logic will also tell me that since you have a yard, you also own a house.”

Impressed, the redneck said, “Amazin’!”

“And since you own a house, logic dictates that you have a wife.”

“That’s Betty Mae! This is incredible!”

The redneck was catching on.

“Finally, since you have a wife, logically I can assume that you are heterosexual,” said the professor.

“You’re absolutely right! Why that’s the most fascinatin’ thing I ever heard! I can’t wait to take that logical thinkin’ class!”

The redneck, proud of the new world opening up to him, walked back into the hallway where his friend was still waiting.

“So what class are ya takin’?” asked the friend.

“logical thinkin’ class!” replied the first redneck.

“What the hell is logical thinkin’?” asked his friend.

“Let me give you an example. Do ya own a weed eater?” asked the first redneck.

“No,” his friend replied.

“You’re gay, ain’t ya?”

<LOL… sorry, that was bad wasn’t it?>

********

That’s all for this one, y’all… I hope to be back real soon.

~ Nick 

4 thoughts on “Randomosity

Leave a Reply

